Home General Discussions & Questions

"Green Screen of Death" When Logging In

LudioLudio Posts: 4
Hello, twice this week I have encountered a blank/frozen green screen after the initial advertisement plays when loading Big Farm during the day at work. Have the same issue on my laptop and desktop. Later, when I take my laptop home I am able to log on normally. This happened earlier this week (Monday) and then I was easily able to log on during the day the next day (Tuesday). It is happening now (Wednesday). Cannot load the application the entire day at work the 2 times it has happened. It is strange that the advertisement successfully completes and then the green screen freezes. I have cleared my browser and flash player history. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.?
Post edited by Ludio on
Ludio @ us 1
«136

Comments

  • Kat Nip (GB1)Kat Nip (GB1) GB1 Posts: 3,796
    edited 21.11.2013
    Have you tried logging in with a different browser?

    Kat. Kittie_by_otomosc.gif


    catbargif

    Many thanks to farmerjohn
  • LudioLudio Posts: 4
    edited 21.11.2013
    Hi Kat, thank you for responding. Unfortunately, I have failed on IE, Firefox, and Chrome. This only happens when I am at work and not every day. When I get home and try, everything works fine and I have never had any trouble at all from home. At work, I have tried on both my laptop and desktop with that same result. What is weird is that the advertisement loads and completes without any trouble. Then, the green screen comes up and just freezes. I have also cleared my caches on browsers and Flash without any luck. Appreciate any advice you might have and thank you for your response.
    Ludio @ us 1
  • EricaJ (US1)EricaJ (US1) Posts: 202
    edited 21.11.2013
    A lot of employers limit or restrict access to certain sites or online activities in the workplace. It may be that your employer's network is interfering with your ability to run the game.
    EricaJ @ us 1
  • CM NafaruCM Nafaru Posts: 1,325
    edited 22.11.2013
    EricaJ wrote: »
    A lot of employers limit or restrict access to certain sites or online activities in the workplace. It may be that your employer's network is interfering with your ability to run the game.

    That's exactly what seems to be indicated in the logs of your account, Ludio.
    It appears the connection goes through a proxy and that can cause connection problems, such as the ones you described.
  • LudioLudio Posts: 4
    edited 04.12.2013
    I wanted to thank you very much for the great comments/responses. I think I now know what is going on. The Big Farm itself is not being blocked. In fact, when I still have the link open on my laptop and I switch from home to work.... and then just refresh, it usually works fine. However, when I try to load from scratch, I get hung up. Well, I watched what was going on in the background and see that there is a step when loading where Big Farm is trying to connect to Facebook (something about a Facebook plug-in). Well, my employer definitely blocks Facebook and that appears to be the problem. Why are you connecting to Facebook when starting up the Big Farm game?? Is there any way to make the Game stop doing that? Thanks again for the Game. I love playing!
    Ludio @ us 1
  • jess_d (US1)jess_d (US1) US1 Posts: 3,499
    edited 04.12.2013
    Are playing the on the Official site? If not try that.

    Success Team is looking for new members! Click Here
  • monica79538monica79538 Posts: 1,932
    edited 04.12.2013
    play it direct through GGS: http://bigfarm.goodgamestudios.com/
    monica7953 @ us1
    My heart got left on a different farm game time to shrink it a little--I don't think most remember that one anymore ;(
  • tracey40 (GB1)tracey40 (GB1) Posts: 113
    edited 04.12.2013
    I've started having the same problem. I was playing (on firefox on a mac) and suddenly my cursor froze. I closed the tab, tried to log back in and all I get is a blank screen. The cursor appears on the blank page as it does in the game. Tried using safari and managed to get on but then the same thing happened. blank page with game cursor. I've managed to log on via a third party site, Free world Group to post this. any ideas please?
    tracey40 @ en 1
  • tracey40 (GB1)tracey40 (GB1) Posts: 113
    edited 04.12.2013
    Ok the problem has just cleared itself. Weird.
    tracey40 @ en 1
  • LudioLudio Posts: 4
    edited 04.12.2013
    Well, thank you for all the advice. Unfortunately, I still am unable to get past the initial screen even when using the official page, which I was actually using previously as well. The game is attempting to connect to Facebook for some reason and that is where it gets stopped/blocked. Any way to have the game loaded without connecting to Facebook? I don't understand why it would want to do that anyway? Thanks again for taking the time to help me.
    Ludio @ us 1
  • montuosmontuos Posts: 1,275
    edited 04.12.2013
    Ludio wrote: »
    Well, I watched what was going on in the background and see that there is a step when loading where Big Farm is trying to connect to Facebook (something about a Facebook plug-in).

    "Facebook plug-in" sounds to me like it might be some sort of browser extension; maybe it's something you can uninstall or disable? Or maybe try explicitly deleting all Facebook browser cookies and flash cookies? I couldn't say for sure, though; I avoid Facebook like the plague.
    montuos @ en 1 (montuos on forum)
    montuos @ us 1 (montuos2 on forum)
    montuos @ WWW 1 (montuos3 on forum)

    This account remains only for historical purposes. I am no longer an active player, and all my farms have been deleted.
  • Thunderhill2010Thunderhill2010 Posts: 9
    edited 18.01.2014
    We have a member in our Co-op that when she logs into her farm she is only getting a Green Screen - Anybody know how she can fix this?
    Thunderhill2010 @ us 1
  • monica79538monica79538 Posts: 1,932
    edited 18.01.2014
    clear browser cache, have her log in from a different browser Chrome and InternetExplorer work fine for me. She could also try log in from a different computer--like from home or work if she uses the one at school.

    Maybe admin from where she logs in is blocking the site from appearing with a firewall. Or she is not trying to log in on the official site. http://bigfarm.goodgamestudios.com/
    monica7953 @ us1
    My heart got left on a different farm game time to shrink it a little--I don't think most remember that one anymore ;(
  • montuosmontuos Posts: 1,275
    edited 19.01.2014
    If clearing browser cache alone doesn't fix it, clear flash cache too before reloading the page.
    montuos @ en 1 (montuos on forum)
    montuos @ us 1 (montuos2 on forum)
    montuos @ WWW 1 (montuos3 on forum)

    This account remains only for historical purposes. I am no longer an active player, and all my farms have been deleted.
  • Pepper Moon (IN1)Pepper Moon (IN1) Posts: 6,684
    edited 20.01.2014
    Close all the webpages and try rebooting your modem. Rebooting modem always helps.
    Also try clearing your caches as said above.

    To know how to clear browser's cache, Click here
    To know how to clear flash cache, Click here
  • Thunderhill2010Thunderhill2010 Posts: 9
    edited 21.01.2014
    Thank you all for your help... I will be sure to pass all this info on to our member... Happy Farming!
    Thunderhill2010 @ us 1
  • Daytona (INT1)Daytona (INT1) Posts: 425
    edited 21.01.2014
    Push the graphics cables fully into the sockets.
    How to complete the events quickly without gold - find frequencies, help and how to guides -

    My bees have gone!
    Here's to nature!
    Fairy tale time
    Longing for the Far East
    A hint of Hawaii
    Not of this world

    GGS Big Farm : Daytona @ en 1

    GGS Farmer : Daytona2 - L13, 104,777XP, €315,468, Au19 - started 11 days before shutdown 8)
  • stazya2stazya2 Posts: 6
    edited 29.01.2014
    I'm having the same issues at work now since the upgrade as Ludio had last year. Facebook is a blocked site and I'm assuming that is why I can't get past the green screen. It happened earlier in January and I left it a few days and suddenly I was allowed back in. Caches have been cleared and using another browser is not an option. My daughter plays on another farm at home so it's not like I can play there, so my poor farm is abandoned at the moment.
    stazya @ au 1
  • montuosmontuos Posts: 1,275
    edited 29.01.2014
    Make sure you clear flash cache in addition to regular browser cache — that's necessary after yesterday's update and today's hotfix — and then do a hard reload of the page afterwards (Ctrl-F5 for most non-Mac browsers), or try loading it in a new tab or window.

    If you don't want to delete all of your flash cache (for instance, if you have saved logins or important stuff for other sites there), you can just delete all the goodgamestudios.com entries from it.
    montuos @ en 1 (montuos on forum)
    montuos @ us 1 (montuos2 on forum)
    montuos @ WWW 1 (montuos3 on forum)

    This account remains only for historical purposes. I am no longer an active player, and all my farms have been deleted.
  • reddeb (US1)reddeb (US1) Posts: 12
    edited 04.04.2014
    HI Ludio...This is exactly my problem!!!! Thank goodness I am not the only one. I'm only having problems at work not at home. And if Big Farm is running directly through FaceBook I am sunk because my employer does block it. I don't understand why they changed this when everyone doesn't do FB?
    reddeb @ us 1


  • neriux777neriux777 Posts: 161
    edited 13.05.2014
    When I try to load game, I having green screen and no action happening, do game still in update mode?
    neriux777 @ WWW 1
  • DoctorDoug (US1)DoctorDoug (US1) Posts: 12
    edited 13.05.2014
    I have cleared my browser's cache several times, yet am unable to get past a solid green screen since the update this morning took it down.
    DoctorDoug @ us 1
  • edited 13.05.2014
    me too...green screen
    martinafranjisi @ WWW 1
  • catootje2catootje2 Posts: 8
    edited 13.05.2014
    I have also a green screen, can't get into the game. Is there something i can do?
    catootje @ nl 1
  • YINPlayer2YINPlayer2 Posts: 231
    edited 13.05.2014
    I also meet the same problem , thank you for posting it .
  • catootje2catootje2 Posts: 8
    edited 13.05.2014
    oh, i think they are trying to fix it, now i get on my screen; work in progress. Hope i can play soon:)
    catootje @ nl 1
  • rie222rie222 Posts: 1,074
    edited 13.05.2014
    Ok whats going on cannot log on this morning.
    2qvbhgg.jpgrie22
  • Irish30 (US1)Irish30 (US1) Posts: 264
    edited 13.05.2014
    deleted post
    Irish30 @ us 1
  • rie222rie222 Posts: 1,074
    edited 13.05.2014
    Irish30 wrote: »
    Same problem here...I guess I shouldn't be surprised...by now this seems the normal fact of life in the game...sad but true. Be safe and hug those close to you and share your love....

    HI Irish I'm guessing its everyone gonna send you a forum email. I bet our entire coop is locked out.
    2qvbhgg.jpgrie22
Sign In to comment.